Bat sex and whale snot sweep the prizes

Ten winners were declared at the ceremony held in Harvard University’s Sanders Theatre, with eight of them on hand to receive their prizes, and the ceremony broadcast on YouTube.


An idea to use a remote-control helicopter to collect whale snot won the engineering prize for a British-Mexican team, with the project under the authentically geeky title “A Novel Non-Invasive Tool for Disease Surveillance of Free-Ranging Whales and Its Relevance to Conservation Programs.”

A Dutch pair of scientists won medicine honors for their discovery that a roller coast ride can treat asthma symptoms, while a Japanese team took the transportation planning prize for use of “slime mold to determine the optimal routes for railroad tracks.”

The physics prize went to researchers at the University of Otago, New Zealand, for helpfully demonstrating that socks worn outside of shoes reduce slipping on icy paths.

Three British researchers at Keele University were the surprise peace prize laureates for proving that swearing relieves pain, while an experiment determining that microbes cling to bearded scientists took the health prize.

The economics prize went, with tongue jammed in cheek, to the executives of Goldman Sachs, AIG, Lehman Brothers and other central players in the US economic crisis for “new ways to invest money — ways that maximize financial gain and minimize financial risk for the world economy.”

A more scientific view on the business world was rewarded with the management prize, which went to researchers at the University of Catania, Italy, for “demonstrating mathematically that organizations would become more efficient if they promoted people at random.”

Finally, a Chinese-British team of researchers walked off with the biology prize for revealing to the world documentary evidence of fellatio in fruit bats.

The Igs are Harvard’s humorous take on the more famous — and deadly serious — Nobel Prizes. They claim to “make people laugh and then make them think.”

Real-life Nobel laureates, including 2004 physics winner Frank Wilczek and 1985 peace prize winner James Muller, handed out the awards.

Then Marc Abrahams, editor of Annals of Improbable Research, which helped sponsor the Igs, closed the ceremony with the traditional: “If you didn’t win an Ig Nobel prize tonight — and especially if you did — better luck next year.”

Comments are closed.